In 2002, the following poem was published in the United States of America.  The first version of it.  I later tweaked it a bit.  Having this week posted a two-part piece about the Emile Coue Method and its repercussions, something keeps prodding me to also publish my “Thoughts” poem here.  I have been resisting the urge, but shall not have any peace until I do it, so here is the “tweaked” version of it.  I hope that someone out there likes it.

THOUGHTS ARE ETERNAL

 

Thoughts are eternal.  A thought never dies.

Thoughts swirl around us.  The truth and the lies

Flow from the future, roll back from the past.

Whatever you think, your thoughts will all last.

 

Sure of their beauty?  They’ll live after you.

They influence others, influence you.

Proud of your thoughts, or ashamed of their hold?

A penny for one – can your thoughts be told?

 

Think always with love.  It shows on your face.

Your aura will change.  You’ll seem full of grace.

Then look for the light in each one you meet,

Give him your smile when you pass on the street.

 

Yes, think well of others – no-one’s all bad;

Aggressive young men might only be sad.

It’s not always easy.  I’ll grant you that,

But spare them a thought, or even a chat.

 

Thoughts are eternal.  A thought never dies.

Thoughts swirl around us.  The truth and the lies

Flow from the future, roll back from the past.

Whatever you think, your thoughts will all last.

 

There must be some reason why it is important that this poem be published this week.  It might only be as a reminder to myself.  However, it is done now, so I am free to get back to my translating.  I hope that I haven’t chased away any subscribers or habitual visitors.

