The following story has been very carefully studied for it happened to a writer, John W. Dunnes.  In Spring 1902, during the Transvaal War, Dunnes, affected to the 6th Regiment of Mounted Infantry, is camped near the ruins of Lindley.  One night, he has a dream that is rather unpleasant and of extraordinary intensity.  Here is his account:

“I was on a rise, in the proximity of the crest of a hill or mountain.  The ground was of singular whiteness.  Here and there were fine fissures and I could see jets of steam coming from them.  I recognized the place:  it was an island about which I had already dreamed, an island exposed to imminent peril because of a volcano.  Before these jets of steam rising from the ground :  “But it’s my island,” I cried, seized with fear;  it is going to explode, good God!”  And there I was seized with the frantic wish to save the 4,000 inhabitants (I knew the number), who were unaware of the danger.  Only one means of doing it:  evacuate them by sea.  But this was a frightful nightmare during which I saw myself on a neighbouring island, doing my best to requisition, through incredulous French authorities, all available embarcations to transport the inhabitants of the endangered island.  Sent from public servant to public servant, I was thrashing around so much that I woke myself – while still seeing myself clinging to the Mayor’s car as he was going to dine in town, asking me to come back the next day during working hours.  In this dream, the number of the menaced population was a constant obsession for me.  I repeated it to everyone and called to the Mayor, just as I was waking, this supreme appeal:  “Four thousand people will die if you don’t listen to me!”…

“About a week later, we received the newspapers, one week old.  The “Daily Telegraph” was amongst them and, having opened it, I found this:

“Great disaster in Martinique

Saint-Pierre swallowed by a volcanic eruption

Avalanche of fire makes more than 40,000 victims

English liner in flames.”

“In another column, I noticed the following title:  “A mountain explodes!”  then followed the report from the captain of a schooner forced to leave Saint-Vincent by a hail of sand coming from the volcano.  The article contained this sentence:  “Mount Pele exploded while we were sailing about one mile from the coast.”

“The narrator mentioned the spectacle of this mountain as it split, as it were, from its base to its summit.

“Here, I must make a remark.  The number of victims was, according to the communiques, not 4,000 as I kept saying in my dream, but 40,000.  I made the mistake of a zero.”

Later, Dunnes was to learn that the Mount Pele catastrophe had really made 12,517 victims, a number different to both the one in his dream and the one announced by the Daily Telegraph.  After that, we must ask ourselves the question, which he also asks, himself:  instead of having a vision, in his dream, of the volcanic eruption itself, didn’t he rather have a vision of the newspaper which had just appeared in London and contained all the details of the cataclysm?  This would explain why he spoke of 4,000 victims, the number which, except for a zero, was the figure which was printed on the first page of the Daily Telegraph

The assassination of the Archduke Ferdinand and the Archduchess of Austria

Finally, here is the last example of a particularly troubling premonitory dream:  in the night of 27 to 28 June 1914, Monsieur Joseph de Lanyi, Bishop of Grosswardein, dreamed that he saw on his work desk a letter bordered in black, bearing the arms of the Archduke Ferdinand of Austria.  (The prelate had been the Archduke’s Hungarian teacher.)  The next day he recounted:

“I opened this letter and at the top of the paper, I noticed a street into which an alley opened.  The Archduke was sitting in an automobile, with his wife.  Opposite him was a general and, on the seat beside the chauffeur, an officer.  Suddenly, two young people came out of the crowd and shot the couple.  I saw the Archduke collapse and the image disappeared.  Then, I read the letter:  “Dear Doctor Lanyi, I announce to you that I have just been, with my wife, in Sarajevo, the victim of a political crime.  We recommend ourselves to your prayers.”

“And it was dated from:  “Sarajevo, 28 June, 4 o’clock in the morning…””

Exactly nine hours later, the Archduke and the Archduchess were assassinated by Gavrilo Princip…

***

